Allgemein

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: „Take It From Me.“

I have to tell you a story which happened to me.

It was at the end of the 70th last century. 1978/1979/1980 ? and I stayed for two weeks in Jerusalem. Not for the first time and not for the last one.

One evening after visiting the old city I found a nice little restaurant nearby with only a couple of tables. Besides me there was only a group of around 7 or 8 people whom I did not realize in the beginning when I was entering the garden with nice trees and flowers to sit down, eating and drinking a little bit. At those times in my thirties I really looked good. On this evening I was dressed in black, dark brown hairs and a nice tan.

While I was waiting for my glass of wine I suddenly realized the interesting glance of one man in this little group, three or four steps away from my table. He was dressed totally in white, good looking, and – it took me only some seconds – it was the actor Peter O’Toole. Peter O’Toole and me in the same restaurant! Peter O’Toole looking at me full of interest and curiosity! And I looked back!

Later I worked on my phantasy how I stood up in that moment, went the three or four steps to his table saying „hello“.

I invented several options about the process which might have followed after the greeting. From: Oh, nice to meet you but I am too tired from my work to invite you to my table . (He was working for the series ‚Masada‘, which I later saw in the cinema). Til: Please sit down for  a while. What are you doing here?

But in that moment I was hindered by what? I didn’t move towards him and to the table with his film-crew. And I missed the opportunity to get in touch with Peter O’Toole, although I wanted it so much. But it never came out of my mind, as you can read.

My advice is : follow your spontanous ideas and your impulsiveness. Try to connect to others when you are curious about them. I have learned it later and it is one of my joys in my age (70 plus) that I dare to reach out. Last weekend, when I came with the train from Munich I met Professor Fuchs from the university from Heidelberg on the way. I  have been in two of his lectures about phenomenology and atmosphere/mood. Without hesitation I adressed to him, could say some words about his brilliant lectures, he was pleased, smiled – that was it.

A missed opportunity

Zitat

4 Gedanken zu “A missed opportunity

    • my answer disappeared when I just tried to improve a mistake in spelling. Again: Thank you for your comment. I see mostly the enormous effort it took for me (and I think others, too) to overcome the inhibitions in my personality. When I was young, I never thought that life sometimes is so exhausting and straining every nerve.

      Gefällt mir

    • Hi, i tried several times to reply to your comment, which I appreciated a lot.I could not find the exact place where to answer. I hope this works.
      I do not think that it comes like a gift, it is hard work to overcome the difficulties in the personality. psychic work. But in our age a lot of development has already happened, and that feels good, indeed. Charlotte

      Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

